Returning from Chicago (the second time), I see a need to add the primary series in the schedule.

Yes, the 1.5-2 hour Primary Series practice can FEEL daunting…but the cikitsa is truly a great modality for prevention of pain + suffering and other blah blah blah (aka your story).

When I was in Ashtanga training, Manju mentioned that the Ashtanga method is really ALL the yoga one will ever need. EVER. You have to understand for an individual who likes to test limits, set my own, color inside (and outside) the lines, this was hard to imagine. But no Pigeon? No Standing Dancer? No Lizard?! There will be many “never mores”, this is, within the parameters of what is the Ashtanga method.

I have not decided full on to move FULL throttle and do ONLY Ashtanga personally or instructing, but a growing need is showing up in studio (and around me) for greater confidence, strength, courage, aptitude, and less chatter. I guess you could say “a little less talk and a whole lot more action”.

I suffer from wanting to tell the crazy boss in my mind to “Shut it”. Sometimes there is a lot of chittra/chatter and not enough stillness or the opposite of too much theory of what I would “like to do” “know I need to do” and not enough doing. The Ashtanga method gives freedom for the Spirit to BE as the Sanskrit speaks to the heart of your soul, the breathing carries you deeper into consciousness, and the movement wrings you out physically and emotionally.

I love it all, as the classical American that Manju so lovely described as we are like children who like to experience everything and when we are ready, make our mind up.

“We” as a collective have been working through the cikitsa for the past year. I feel that when you approach the remainder of the series (or the Primary), you look at how much awkward you can physically “BE” with. The great news is is that each pose is held for approximately 5 or so breaths, so we quickly experience, squeeze, and pause, then jump back into the flow – ahem…letting it go.

As a student of exercise and the study of self, I love yoga. I am passionate about sharing it with others and continue to search for new ways to reach existing or new students that brings the best and worst to surface. I enjoy just about everything and like to blend methods and modalities to cultivate what I am authentic with in every moment. The part that draws me to Ashtanga though is that it is the fundamentals, mathematics, and geometry that prepares you for more. NOTE: there are many ways to get the “job” done, at this time, I have decided that this is the BEST for me.

The next big question I have been sitting with for a while is WHEN. We are maintaining ~4-6+ individuals weekly in all of the power classes and dabbling in asanas and pranayama in the Primary and Secondary Series. The “when” will happen when it is right. When dedication meets opportunity!

Please share with me if this gets you going to be more active with less chatter, in studio or out of studio by leaving a comment below.

